Maybe she’s born with it….maybe it’s….full of toxins?

1 Dec

(Source)

If you haven’t looked at EWG’s Skin Deep Database, you may be shocked to find the number of toxins that are in the cosmetics you use everyday.

The shocking fact is that the cosmetics we apply to our bodies are not well investigated nor regulated.  The  FDA’s Office of Cosmetics and Colors has said, “…a cosmetic manufacturer may use almost any raw material as a cosmetic ingredient and market the product without an approval from FDA” (FDA 1995).

Top 10 Cosmetic Toxins

1. Mercury Known human carcinogen.
2. Lead Acetate Known human carcinogen.
3. Formaldehyde Known human carcinogen
4. Toluene Reproductive/developmental toxin
5. Petroleum Distillates Possible human carcinogen
6. Ethylacrylate Possible human carcinogen
7. Coal Tar Known human carcinogen
8. Dibutyl Phthalate Reproductive/developmental toxin
9. Potassium Dichromate Possible human carcinogen
10. 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1,3-Diol Forms carcinogens if mixed with nitrosating agents

You can click on each toxin to learn more about it.

(Source)

Here is a great You Tube video put out by the EWG that discusses the toxins in makeup.

I have recently switched the majority of my makeup to healthier alternatives.  Safe alternatives can be expensive.  However, affordable options are available.

In my new series, Toxin Free Thursdays, I will discuss toxins to avoid in body care products, healthy alternatives and ways to be naturally gorgeous!

Question?

How many cosmetics do you use on a regular basis?  Did you know so many toxins can legally be in cosmetics?

11 Responses to “Maybe she’s born with it….maybe it’s….full of toxins?”

  1. blogitness December 1, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Very shocking! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries December 2, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    This is very interesting! I’ve never really even thought about this before, but it makes sense that there could be tons of toxins in our makeup and other beauty supplies. Looking forward to reading more about this!

  3. Megan @ The Detoxinista December 2, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    I love the Skin Deep database– I use it a lot!! I’ve managed to switch over all my cleansers and lotions to safer alternatives, but I still use a few traditional makeup items because I’m terribly set in my ways. Thanks for the reminder!!

    Maybe I should ask Santa for some safer makeup products in my stocking. ;)

  4. The Healthy Apple December 3, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I just found your blog and I LOVE it. You have amazing content and I am so happy to have found you! I am going through chelation right now to draw out the heavy metals from my body as I have been sick for a long time and no doctors ever knew why…Thank you for this article; what are your favorite clean makeup, shampoo and lotion brands? I’d love to hear what you use.
    Thank you again; have a great weekend!

    • naturallyhealthyandgorgeous December 3, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

      Hi, glad you found it interesting! I use Dr. Bronner’s castille soap for shampoo/body wash. I use shea butter mixed with coconut oil or vaseline for lotion. I’m going to be posting some of my recipes online in the upcoming weeks. Thanks for stopping by! :)

  5. Hannah @ Eat, Drink and Save Money December 7, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I have heard of this database before, but never found it. This is so important and many organic choices are becoming less costly making it easy to make better choices!

  6. Larhonda Hershkowitz December 22, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Some truly grand work on behalf of the owner of this internet site , absolutely great written content .

  7. Carline Gidaro December 22, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Thanks for helping out, excellent information.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Toxic Thursdays-Lotion « naturallyhealthyandgorgeous - December 15, 2011

    [...] to the next installment of Toxic Thursdays!  If this is the first Toxic Thursday post you have read, check out the first post on shampoo.  [...]

  2. Toxic Thursdays-Body Wash « naturallyhealthyandgorgeous - December 22, 2011

    [...] Welcome to the next installment of Toxic Thursdays! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

